×
×

How to set up your iPhone, iPad or iPod Touch

The instructions and screenshots in this setup guide are for iOS 7. Previous versions of iOS are very similar, although the screenshots may not match exactly what you see on your device.

  1. Open the Settings app. iOS Settings
  2. Tap Mail, Contacts, Calendars.

    iOS Mail

  3. Tap Add Account, then Other (at the bottom of the list), then Add Mail Account.
  4. Fill in your name, email address and password:

    • Name: The name people will see on the email you send.
    • Email: Your full NCN.NET username, including the domain.
    • Password: Your NCN.NET password.
    • Description: A name to identify this account (anything you like).

    iOS add Mail

  5. Tap Next, then fill in the mail server settings as below, you will have to scroll to see them all.
    • Name: The name people will see on the email you send.
    • Email: Your full NCN.NET username, including the domain.
    • Description: A name to identify this account (anything you like).
    Incoming Mail Server
    • Host Name: mail.ncn.net
    • User Name: Your full NCN.NET username, including the domain.
    • Password: Your NCN.NET password.
    Outgoing Mail Server
    • Host Name: mail.ncn.net
    • User Name: Your full NCN.NET username, including the domain.
    • Password: Your NCN.NET password.

    iOS Mail Settings

  6. Tap Next, then tap Save.

Your NCN.NET account is now ready to use; open the Mail app to read your email. Check the rest of this help page for details of further settings you may wish to change.


Messages are disappearing from my Trash. How do I fix this?

By default, iOS deletes messages permanently after they've been in the Trash for a week. To change this behaviour:

  1. Open the Settings app.
  2. Tap Mail, Contacts, Calendars.
  3. Tap your NCN.NET account in the list at the top. It will be labelled with whatever you typed in for the Description field when you set it up.
  4. Tap Account, scroll to the bottom and tap Advanced.
  5. Under Deleted Messages, tap Remove and change the setting from "After one week" to "Never".
  6. Tap to go back to your Account, then tap Done.